Our Japan Week Sale is here! Save up to £800pp across all tours

Solos can save up to £1,750 with free single supplements on selected tours. Find out more

The Award-Winning Tour Specialist
Close

Reviews

"We are never satisfied until you come back and travel with us again" - Wendy Wu, Founder & Chairwoman

At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future.

With this in mind, we have teamed up with independent review company feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us.

We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.

We were humbled to receive so much positive feedback from clients affected by the onset of the Coronavirus crisis. We hope the positive experience of customers, who still managed to enjoy their tours even as the pandemic hit, shows how wonderful your experience will be once we all get travelling again.



We also have more fantastic reviews from around the globe on TripAdvisor, including many 5 star!

 
Rating
Customer Review

Japan by Rail

Sunday 10 Dec 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
This was an interesting tour that was well organised, with a good range of activities, opportunity to enjoy all sorts of Japanese food, using good hotels and with a very good guide. There are just a couple of things that stop me awarding it 5 stars

Japan by Rail

Wednesday 29 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Excellent trip very well organised.
Would never have been able to cover so much in such a short time

Japan by Rail

Monday 20 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
An amazing and comprehensive itinerary - don’t think we could possibly have seen any more of Japan. So well organised and looked after by our guide Hannah (Haruko) who was so knowledgeable and went above and beyond what could have been expected to make sure we got the most out of our trip.

Japan by Rail

Sunday 19 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
Some of the sites visited were extremely busy which is due to over tourism, not the fault of WendyWu. This may however be an opportunity for Wendywu to find some less visited sites in the country for a more off the beaten track experience (a more rural or seaside area added for a couple of nights would be great). The tour guide, Mari, was excellent and the trip went very smoothly, due to her great organisational skills and knowledge of the country. It was a full on tour and a little more free time might have been useful. In hind sight I think that a bit more time in the south/middle of the country would have been better with the trip finishing in Tokyo. Travelling up to Sapporo was a lot of time on the trains with only single nights in hotels (rather than 2 nights for most of the rest of the trip) and the weather was worse in the north with shorter days at this time of year. Overall, an excellent trip.

Japan by Rail

Saturday 18 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Tour guide Kumi was the best we've had - very knowledgeable with , helpful and professional - even helping members of the group with transport once the tour had finished. This is a very full on tour with lots of walking and traversing across the whole of Japan - some older members of the group struggled to keep up with the pace, so I would suggest this is upgraded to a 2 level in future. Lunch locations could have been closer to some of the sights, or even bento boxes being provided as a picnic, enabling longer visiting times at some sights, as we were restricted timewise at some castles such as Himeji Castle. Also, a dinner with a show option could be added to the itinerary, rather than just dinners each evening. I would also recommend changing the dinner start times to 7.30 pm, as 45 minutes to collect luggage, check into the hotel, shower, change and get out again on a repetitive basis is challenging.

Japan by Rail

Friday 17 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
I would give 4.5 if I could…….. I never give 5 as there is always room for improvement. I should, however, mention that our holiday was cut short due to an accident. The tour manager, Mina, was brilliant, she managed to produce wheelchairs as if by magic and also assisted us in finding a doctor who spoke English. I have already recommended you to friends who are looking to book a Vietnam tour with you.

Japan by Rail

Monday 06 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
It is a very expensive holiday, but on the whole worth it. The all inclusive 3 meals a day caused quite a lot of wasted food as it became just a bit too much. I also felt a bit aggrieved for not being given the included breakfast on the day of departure. Admittedly it was early (6.45 am) but I thought the hotel could provide a small take-away croissant and a coffee.
Very much enjoyed the train journeys and the special evening meals and locations, a lot of variety. Very well organised itinerary, however, our guide was somewhat overwhelmed with looking after a group of 28 people and relied heavily on group members to help. For this size of group I thought she should have been given a Wendy Wu assistant. However, she did an excellent job and was always cheerful and helpful.

Japan by Rail

Monday 16 Oct 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
The tour was very well organised, the guide Miuchi was superb, so patient and good humoured.l did find the itenary a bit busy on some days
.

Japan by Rail

Friday 05 May 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
When I first enquired about this holiday, it was hard for me to get the right information so I could make a choice between two different Japan trips. I was a bit unsure about spending so much money on the longer trip, which carried no discount. Also, I had to pay a very large single supplement, which made me hesitate. On top of all that (which was probably my fault for booking so late), I had to pay an additional £600 on the airfare. So, all in all, it was a hard decision for me to make and I didn't find the sales agent very helpful. However, I went away and thought about the long trip and decided that, since I was only going to go to Japan once, I should try and see as much as possible. I called you again to book and this time your sales agent was very helpful and gave me advice on the best day to fly. The trip was expensive but, once I got to Japan, I hardly spent any money as all meals were included. Next time I book a trip with you, I will try and find an offer of reduced or no single supplement , which I know you do sometimes. Anyway, it was a great trip with lovely people and a wonderful guide, Sam, who really contributed towards our overall enjoyment. He was excellent.

Japan by Rail

Sunday 30 Apr 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
We enjoyed the trip very much, it was brilliant that we saw as much as we did. It was a shame that we didn’t have much free time as we were on the go which is understandable. . A day of free time would be welcome with the amount of travelling. It stated in the brochure that the level was grade 1, we felt it was more like grade 3 to 4 with the amount of walking required and the steps going to the top of the temples.

Japan by Rail

Wednesday 26 Apr 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
From start to end this tour was amazing. Our group leader, Sam, was exemplary - very kind, attentive and well-organised, with a wealth of knowledge to impart everywhere we went. The route was well planned to include a range of cultural experiences in both urban and rural settings. Hotels were always good and the included meals meant that we were able to sample a lot of Japanese dishes as well as some Western options. The itinerary was quite intensive and fast-paced and it would have been good to have the option of a bit more free time to explore on our own in some places. I would have liked the option of an evening's entertainment to experience Japanese music or dance. The trip encompassed a huge area of this amazing country: the transport, whether by train or coach, was seamless and the experiences we had along the way were so memorable. A trip of a lifetime, for sure!

Japan by Rail

Saturday 22 Apr 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Wide selection of places visited, delicious food, helpful guide all made a wonderful first visit to Japan and with lots of cherry blossoms.

Japan by Rail

Thursday 20 Apr 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Did exactly what it said it would. Good guide-good hotels-good food=good experience