Spirit of Scotland
Save on Tours Worldwide

Partner Flies Free - Solos save 50% off your Airfare - Plus a Free Airport Lounge Pass

Book by Monday 29 November

The Award-Winning Tour Specialist

Reviews

Extraordinary tours by the Award-Winning tour specialist

Travel Safe with our COVID Safe Protocols
Close

"We are never satisfied until you come back and travel with us again" - Wendy Wu, Founder & Chairwoman

At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future.

With this in mind, we have teamed up with independent review company feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us.

We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.

We were humbled to receive so much positive feedback from clients affected by the onset of the Coronavirus crisis. We hope the positive experience of customers, who still managed to enjoy their tours even as the pandemic hit, shows how wonderful your experience will be once we all get travelling again.



We also have more fantastic reviews from around the globe on TripAdvisor, including many 5 star!

 
Rating
Customer Review

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Monday 15 Oct 2018
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Good
Booking second to none .No problems with flights .Some hotels a little below standard .Great National Guide .All inclusive, so no problems finding places to eat .A couple of really early morning starts and missing breakfast , I feel might have been avoided .
Flight changed on the way home which meant getting up in the middle of the night ,if those were the flights we were offered on booking I would have thought twice about the holiday .An ending such as we had makes for a much extended journey home ,long haul is long haul ,making it even longer was rather off putting .

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Friday 12 Oct 2018
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

From being met at Beijing airport to leaving Kunming for our return flight via Beijing the tour was well organised. The hotels were mainly very good (couple with suspect plumbing) and the food always of a high standard. During the three weeks we experienced so many amazing sights and sounds. The group dynamics were excellent so we were a 'family, and this I'm sure helped to make the tour such a success and memorable.
Our national guide Alice was excellent and a walking historian who made the tour even more interesting with her humour and knowledge. The local guides who joined us along the journey were all very, very good.
The holiday was one of the most memorable and fascinating.

Product :

We were pleased with everything. Any small 'blips' were soon sorted by Alice and overall this trip was wonderful.

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Saturday 12 May 2018
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Good
Very well organised but the 2 main problems i had were
1) Evening meal times. Often depending on the itinerary we would have a big lunch at 1:30 to 2 pm. Then , as i see it, the guides and driver wanted to finish early we were expected to have dinner sometimes as early as 5:30 and generally before :30 pm. Personally i was often not hungry at this time and it also often meant checking into the hotel and then having only 30 minutes to in the room before going to dinner

2) The tipping

I think the tipping should be included in the package. If i found a guide not so good i found it embarasing not to pay the recommended amount


The first week until we got on the cruise was very hectic but we did get upgraded on the boat

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Thursday 16 Nov 2017
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
From start to finish China Encounters was the most amazing tour. It covered so much off the China I was interested to see including Tibet when we visited Shangri-La. I couldn't point out one place which was better than the other. Our guide Wendy who travelled with us was both knowledgeable and fun to be with and gave us a great insight to the culture and minorities wherever we travelled. All the local guides were also interesting and informative. Everything was well organized, food was great as were the hotels. My only moan would be that we didn't have enough free time to look around the various sights as sometimes it seemed so rushed. I would certainly use and highly recommend Wendy Wu again in the future. Thanks for the wonderful memories and for showing me around your wonderful country.

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Wednesday 15 Nov 2017
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

It was brilliant and the tour guide was out of this world

Product :

Great value for money and an experience of a life tome

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Tuesday 11 Oct 2016
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Our guide Clara was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble,we can,t speak highly enough of her.Our itinerary said there was cormorant fisherman on Erhai lake in Dali. This is not the case and your records should be changed as this is misleading

Product :

The only problem was the hotel in Chengdu,on the second day we walked out of breakfast without having anything to eat,it was quite frankly disgusting, the tables were not being cleared there was nowhere to sit,there was no coffee, no juice, no plates, no cups , no glasses .the reason we were given was it was a local holiday but that is no excuse. Also you had to wait 15 minutes for a lift, you should seriously consider dropping this hotel

Our Response

That's fantastic news to hear your tour guide was brilliant, we have relayed your positive feedback on, i'm sure this will make Clara's day.

We are actively investigating why you did not receive the cormorant fisherman on Erhai lake in Dali. We will get back to you with our findings shortly.

We are sorry to hear that your hotel in Chengdu did not meet your expectations, but rest assured your comments have not been taken lightly.

Overall we hope you enjoyed your trip to an amazing destination.

Kind regards
Zoe Bligh

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Tuesday 11 Oct 2016
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

The national tour manager was excellent. She really looked after us and made us feel welcome and made the whole group feel like a family. The local guides and the bus drivers were superb.

Product :

We have already sent our detailed feed back on the questionnaire sent by you to us. China Encounters gave us a magnificent experience of China. The only thing we can suggest is for your to ask your regular restaurants to have at least one western toilet if they want your business. You should have big clout with them!

Our Response

That's great news to hear your national guide was excellent, we have relayed your positive feedback on to our office in China.

We look forward to receiving your questionnaire for further feedback.

Kind regards
Zoe Bligh

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Tuesday 11 Oct 2016
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

The organisation was fantastic and our local guide, Klara, was wonderful,she was our Chinese 'Mama' and could not have done more for us.

Product :

A real taste of the variety of China, from the cities to the remote countryside. Quite strenuous though, so be warned.

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Monday 19 Oct 2015
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Our national guide,Amy was superb.

Product :

Although we really enjoyed our holiday, a couple of points, need to allow more time between connecting flights at Heathrow and some of our hotels could not really do western style breakfast.

Our Response

Thank you for taking the time to post us your review following your China Encounters tour which you have recently returned from.

We are pleased you have enjoyed the service your guide has provided you with.

Kind regards,
Junior

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Sunday 18 Oct 2015
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Very good throuout the tour no faults whatsoever

Product :

A little hectic at first not enough time at the main attractions I.e the Great Wall , the pandas the Terracotta Army and tia square those four should be all day tours not for a couple of hours if your lucky with no more places on those days to visit a little to rushed with little time to look around the towns and city's we stayed in More leisure time to browse less rush in all locations. On the whole we really enjoyed the tour our guide Amy was fantastic she should be congradulated on her expertise we are recommending this tour to everyone with Wendy wu tours

Our Response

Welcome home from your China Encounters tour, we are delighted to hear you have enjoyed your tour to China with us and are pleased to hear you have been recommending us to others based on your experience.

We also appreciate your feeling of wanting to spend all day at your favorite attractions which can be difficult with so much to see!

We hope to welcome you away again on a tour into more undiscovered parts of China in the not-too-distant future!

Kind regards,
Junior

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Monday 18 May 2015
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Very good

Product :

Great

CHINA ENCOUNTERS PRIVATE TOUR

Saturday 02 Aug 2014
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Good
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Mostly excellent service during the booking process with any queries dealt with quickly and in a friendly manner.
lots of information given to make planning easier.
A few hiccups with the documentation and information not being received. Also confusion over names and addresses of different members of the party. Documents, including return of passports were sent to the wrong people. Information booklet only arrived less than one week before the trip as did final itinerary making it difficult to check.

Product :

The tour was amazing. Fulfilled all our expectations and more. All out tour guides and drivers were fantastic. A special mention to our main guide, Gump, who looked after us the whole time. he was informative, helpful and caring as well as being extremely flexible to our needs and very efficient in organising every detail. A definite asset and a bonus to our trip.
Our only disappointment was the three day extension in Shanghai. We had a fabulous guide who again was willing to change our itinerary for us and gave us a great day sightseeing. however, the trip was sold as three days and we effectively only had one. The last day of our China encounters Trip and the first day of our Shanghai experience were actually the same day. On day three we left for the airport at 7.00a.m. so could hardly include it in our visit.We had paid for an upgrade to a better hotel but had no time to enjoy it. Also our travel companions were in a different hotel which was 30 mins drive away but we shared the same guide. This made it difficult to organise our time.

CHINA ENCOUNTERS PRIVATE TOUR

Thursday 31 Jul 2014
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

wonderful guide Gump showed us the real China

Product :

a sweeping overview of all aspects

CHINA ENCOUNTERS

Tuesday 29 Jul 2014
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Very well organised, excellent customer service in UK and knowledgeable guides in China. Some hotels could be better but still at the development stage.

Product :

Interesting and varied itinerary. National guide was excellent and local guides very knowledgeable, all with very good English. Interesting mix of UK and Australians. LOTS of steps!

CHINA ENCOUNTERS PRIVATE TOUR

Tuesday 29 Jul 2014
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Our Tour: Excellent

Service rating :

Your National Guide, Gump was exceptional. The Encounters Tour was challenging but very worthwhile. Gump made it a great experience.

Product :

I think the name - China Encounters - is most applicable. Much was seen, heard , and tasted and it gave a really good snap shot of China in the 30 days trip. Much was learned. National Guide -Gump - was nothing but exceptional.