At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future. With this in mind, we have teamed up with an independent review platform called feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us. We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.
You can also read more reviews about Wendy Wu Tours on TripAdvisor.
We had a very good leader who took account of the fact that I and my companion were a bit slow at walking up stairs. It was a busy tour but I enjoyed it: we saw Mount Fuji without any cloud to obscure it, the autumnal colours were vivid and we had excellent food.
Yes I have already recommended Wendy Wu to those of my friends who are thinking of visiting Japan.
I no longer take photos on holiday as it distracts from really looking at the sights.
Travel, accommodation, food, travel companions and sight seeing all very good
Thank you for your 5* review!
We are delighted that you had a wonderful trip! It's great that you got to see Mount Fuji and the autumnal colours. It's brilliant that you enjoyed the food and had a great guide who was understanding and helped you throughout the tour. It's amazing that you have already recommended our company and we hope to help you with another tour in the future.
Very well designed tour, covering many sites and experiences. But could have been so much better.
There was insufficient time at Matsumoto castle to go inside, or at Fushimi Inaru Shrine to explore it fully. As we had travelled half way round the world to see these key sites, this was a VERY big disappointment.
Hotels were OK, although in Nara the coach could not stop outside, so we had to take our luggage quite a way down the road. In Kyoto the hotel dining room was far too small, so people had to queue for quite a while for breakfast. Contary to the info we had been sent in advance, there were kettles in all the bedrooms, and also good wi-fi connection in all bedrooms. It seems as though Wendy Wu do not have up-to-date info about the hotels to which they are sending guests.
Also contrary to info available on the website, apart from 1 dinner and 1 lunch, all lunches and dinners were set meals. This really was not what we were led to expect before booking the holiday, when we were informed that most dinners were buffets, because that is what guests prefer.
Also, contrary to claims about the excellence of the guides, ours did not have a really good command of English - frequently questions were only answered by a "yes", which doesn't work with an either/or query. He did not give very adequate explanations of sites we were visiting, or how they fitted into the history of the country. Not sure if this is because he didn't understand the questions, didn't know the the answers, or could not manage to give the answer in English. This was very disappointing, and meant that a number of us spent a lot of time on Google checking things out and reading up.
See explanation already given.
Will not be booking with Wendy Wu again.
Guide = Kazuo was excellent and the organisation worked well. Perhaps the return service could have been better - really left to our own devices to get to the airport and the transfer in Beiijing.
The inclusion of so many Japanese banquets was a little over the top - as the original details had suggested more buffet style meals.
Overall very enjoyable and inclusive group
Fabulous, well organised tour all round
You really do discover Japan in all its weird and wonderful ways
Thank you for your review!
We are delighted that you had a great Japan experience , and that you thought it was fabulous and well organised! We are sure you have made some wonderful memories and hope that you will book with us again in the future!
Everything as agreed
Great tour, well organised and varied.
Thank you for your 5* review,
We are delighted that you had a great holiday and that everything was as agreed. We hope you have made some lovely memories on your trip and that you will consider booking with us again in the future.
The Discover Japan tour was generally very good although the standard of hotels was disappointing. We (and most of the tour) would have preferred to have paid more for the tour and use quality hotels.
We also felt the balance of the tour was too in favour of old Japan with very little of the new Japan.
That said, it was well organised with a good guide and I would recommend it.
Booking was good and reps very helpful.
Excellent organisation and a superb itinerary. Just a little rushed, perhaps?
Please read comments given above
Having travelled with Wendy Wu to China, we had great expectations of Discover Japan, but were disappointed. The itinerary was not varied enough, with 3 days of 'houses' and then 3 days of temples. There was no evening entertainment and we would have liked to see a Japanese cultural evening.
The time planning was poor and the hotels varied.
At the end of the holiday we were not provided with a transfer from the hotel to airport but walked 1/4 mile, across a main road with our luggage in order to get a bus to the airport. Not the best way to end a holiday
Disappointing holiday. Could have been better
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your recent tour to Japan.
If you can kindly contact our Customer Care Department, we would like the opportunity to investigate this further for you.
The arrangements worked out well. many of the other guests received options for flights and we did not. If we had we would be unlikely to use Air China again.
The local guide was excellent but we (and others thought that the group size of 28 was too large and difficult to manage.
Please refer to our reservations in the previous answer above.
The booking process was fine, but the confirmation documents and itinerary were sent to an old email address ( that I had used several years ago when booking a previous holiday ) and not to the email address that I had provided for this holiday. It was only by luck that I found them. I sent an email to tell them about this, but they did not reply.
The holiday would have been fine, but due to the weather we were unable to do some of the things on the itinerary, and there was no "plan B" to cover this.
Our guide, Keiko, did the best she could, but there really should be some alternatives already in place.
The tour was very good from start to finish.The guide was very good and very informative, she always made sure everyone was with her when we moved to a different location.
Thank you for your feedback!
We are pleased you enjoyed your "Discover Japan" tour, and your guide was able to ensure you were looked after and given information throughout.
We hope you have returned home with some fond memories of this unforgettable destination.
All my questions I asked when booking were answered and what I was told happened.The travel documents were comprehensive and correct.
I have traveled with Wendy Wu on two previous occasions and been totally satisfied
This holiday was everything I had expected and more.
Thank you for your recent 5* review.
We are pleased to hear that all of your pre-departure questions were answered fully, and all your documents were correct.
It is so lovely to see that you enjoyed another Wendy Wu tour, and we hope you have come away with some incredible memories.
Let us know when your ready for your next tour, and we shall be more than happy to assist!
Well organized. Really good group which helped a lot. The leader for the main group helped us to see all the main sights and this was helped by spectacular weather. The leader for the extension was really good and I had a positive and thought provoking time at Hiroshima.
Saw and experienced more that I expected
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such amazing feedback.
It really looked like you really enjoyed your tour to Japan, and your photos look incredible!
We can't wait to help you in finding another fantastic tour!
A very varied and interesting itinerary if a little hectic.Wearing kimono and taking an onsen bath in the mountains was particularly memorable, as was the tea ceremony, origami and making washi postcards. Some amazing temples and gardens but would have liked some art galleries and/or ceramics museum. A great group - half Brits and half Aussies made a good mix. Unfortunately, our guide's English was not very good and often her instructions were not clear and it was difficult get her to understand a question we may have. However, she was cheerful and managed the logistics of our travel efficiently.
This tour was all inclusive so good value.
Thank you very much for your recent review!
It is such a pleasure to hear about the memories you have gained on your tour, and for you to learn about the culture of Japan first hand!
Provide a tour guide who is better fitted to the role. One who can speak better english and looks to provide additional excursions for those who wanted them.
The itinery was extensive and provided the basis of a good holiday. However optional excursions should have been offered, i.e. theatre trips.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. Please be assured that we strive to provide guides who enrich your experience and we're sorry to hear that you felt your guide could have been improved upon. We've passed your feedback across to our local operator for further review, but are glad to hear you otherwise enjoyed your tour and hope you have come away with many happy memories.