At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future. With this in mind, we have teamed up with an independent review platform called feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us. We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.
You can also read more reviews about Wendy Wu Tours on TripAdvisor.
Knowledgeable booking staff who were very helpful when we decided on booking add-on not in the brochure.
Operator handled my booking efficiently, although I later discovered that two of my fellow travellers from Heathrow were offered a different flight out to take advantage of the upgrade to premium economy on all legs of their journey, whereas I was told that the upgrade was only possible on 3 out of 4 flights.
Disappointing. It was an excellent itinerary but for the money, I expected a more informative and knowledgable guide.
Clear and concise throughout
Room for improvement in some areas of the tour
Very good holiday; well organised. Will give detail but Feefo in the intro state that info will not be fed back to Wendy Wu, so no point in writing it here
My comment may be of value to Wendy Wu but Feefo say will not be passing them on
A truly memorable holiday with great attention to detail making it easy to concentrate on what counted.
Holiday of a lifetime. Brilliant
I would certainly recommend them and would use them again: this was the second Wendy Wu trip we have been on, and we have been delighted with both. Tour guides and accommodation were excellent and the itinerary was well planned.
Excellent customer service. Information about the trip was very detailed and the tour guide was very helpful and organised. The hotels were great and the food was varied with a good range of choices. The itinerary was well planned and the guide was very informative about the places and history. A thoroughly enjoyable trip. Thank you!
Treat uk and Australian clients the same. Give clear instructions about tour expectations re health and mobility we had a wheelchair user on our tour and we ended up assisting her on all tours
Group too large not suitable for wheelchair user
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment with aspects of your tour.
We understand you have been in contact directly with our Customer Care Team, who will respond within 28 days.
some areas were poorly dealt with- 1.advice to not do tour of matsumoto castle re queue,in fact time delay not accurate.
Party too large.
2.No fall back position if a party got lost ie mobile link
3.no information on what we were eating,or in what order.Many foods unrecognisable.
4.credit card access widely available
We had a very good leader who took account of the fact that I and my companion were a bit slow at walking up stairs. It was a busy tour but I enjoyed it: we saw Mount Fuji without any cloud to obscure it, the autumnal colours were vivid and we had excellent food.
Yes I have already recommended Wendy Wu to those of my friends who are thinking of visiting Japan.
I no longer take photos on holiday as it distracts from really looking at the sights.
Travel, accommodation, food, travel companions and sight seeing all very good
Thank you for your 5* review!
We are delighted that you had a wonderful trip! It's great that you got to see Mount Fuji and the autumnal colours. It's brilliant that you enjoyed the food and had a great guide who was understanding and helped you throughout the tour. It's amazing that you have already recommended our company and we hope to help you with another tour in the future.
Very well designed tour, covering many sites and experiences. But could have been so much better.
There was insufficient time at Matsumoto castle to go inside, or at Fushimi Inaru Shrine to explore it fully. As we had travelled half way round the world to see these key sites, this was a VERY big disappointment.
Hotels were OK, although in Nara the coach could not stop outside, so we had to take our luggage quite a way down the road. In Kyoto the hotel dining room was far too small, so people had to queue for quite a while for breakfast. Contary to the info we had been sent in advance, there were kettles in all the bedrooms, and also good wi-fi connection in all bedrooms. It seems as though Wendy Wu do not have up-to-date info about the hotels to which they are sending guests.
Also contrary to info available on the website, apart from 1 dinner and 1 lunch, all lunches and dinners were set meals. This really was not what we were led to expect before booking the holiday, when we were informed that most dinners were buffets, because that is what guests prefer.
Also, contrary to claims about the excellence of the guides, ours did not have a really good command of English - frequently questions were only answered by a "yes", which doesn't work with an either/or query. He did not give very adequate explanations of sites we were visiting, or how they fitted into the history of the country. Not sure if this is because he didn't understand the questions, didn't know the the answers, or could not manage to give the answer in English. This was very disappointing, and meant that a number of us spent a lot of time on Google checking things out and reading up.
See explanation already given.
Will not be booking with Wendy Wu again.
Guide = Kazuo was excellent and the organisation worked well. Perhaps the return service could have been better - really left to our own devices to get to the airport and the transfer in Beiijing.
The inclusion of so many Japanese banquets was a little over the top - as the original details had suggested more buffet style meals.
Overall very enjoyable and inclusive group
Fabulous, well organised tour all round
You really do discover Japan in all its weird and wonderful ways
Thank you for your review!
We are delighted that you had a great Japan experience , and that you thought it was fabulous and well organised! We are sure you have made some wonderful memories and hope that you will book with us again in the future!
Everything as agreed
Great tour, well organised and varied.
Thank you for your 5* review,
We are delighted that you had a great holiday and that everything was as agreed. We hope you have made some lovely memories on your trip and that you will consider booking with us again in the future.
The Discover Japan tour was generally very good although the standard of hotels was disappointing. We (and most of the tour) would have preferred to have paid more for the tour and use quality hotels.
We also felt the balance of the tour was too in favour of old Japan with very little of the new Japan.
That said, it was well organised with a good guide and I would recommend it.
Booking was good and reps very helpful.
Excellent organisation and a superb itinerary. Just a little rushed, perhaps?
Please read comments given above