Introducing Cruise & Tour Holidays

Enjoy the best of both worlds Find out more

The Award-Winning Tour Specialist
Close

Reviews

"We are never satisfied until you come back and travel with us again" - Wendy Wu, Founder & Chairwoman

At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future.

With this in mind, we have teamed up with independent review company feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us.

We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.

We were humbled to receive so much positive feedback from clients affected by the onset of the Coronavirus crisis. We hope the positive experience of customers, who still managed to enjoy their tours even as the pandemic hit, shows how wonderful your experience will be once we all get travelling again.



We also have more fantastic reviews from around the globe on TripAdvisor, including many 5 star!

 
Rating
Customer Review

Grand Tour of China

Friday 07 Jun 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
We weren't really sure what to expect from this holiday, but it surpassed all possible expectations.

The tour was very intensive, and we saw so much of the Chinese culture, learned a lot of the history, and gained an insight into the ways of life of those in the cities, and of those in the countryside.

We covered an incredible distance, travelling by plane, bullet train, cruise ship and coach, but the organisation was impeccable and our national guide, Britany was absolutely amazing.

She was a fountain of knowledge, had incredible organisational skills, was attentive to the needs of every group member, and her standard of English was excellent. She seemed to intuitively know how much knowledge to impart to the group at any one time, without overloading them, and she had an excellent sense of humour. She called us "Britany's Family", and by the end of the trip we actually felt like a family.

We feel as if we saw all of the most important sights in the areas covered by our tour, but some of the days were very long. We were extremely lucky with the weather, and there were no days when it was too hot. Had it been so, the long, outdoor sightseeing days may have been uncomfortable. Many of the Chinese people use umbrellas as sunshades, and this may be worth bearing in mind if we return during the hotter months.

We were very impressed with all of the meals which were included in our tour. The food was plentiful, varied, colourful, and of good quality.

The hotels used were of excellent standard, and were very impressive. They were all situated in central locations which was very convenient.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Many thanks to Wendy Wu, and Britany.


Reply


Forward
Attendee panel closed

Grand Tour of China

Wednesday 29 May 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Simple courteous service

Grand Tour of China

Thursday 09 May 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
This is not a holiday, it is an interesting, educational, cultural experience!
On 6th April 2024 we became part of” Ivy’s family “of fourteen. Four English, one New Zealander and the rest Australian (4 singles and 5 couples), a great combination. Due to jet lag we decided to fly to Beijing two days before the tour started-good idea.
Very few people had any English at all, even in the hotels. They did use translation app’s, to varying degrees of success. Downloading your own before you get to China is a good idea (wish we had).
Ivy, our national tour guide was with us throughout the 26 days. How she got us all from Beijing to Shanghai via three domestic flights (enormous airports with very tight security), three train journeys (gigantic stations) and all the tours without losing anyone was a mystery to us all. She made us all feel safe in an environment alien to ours. Forests of sky-high, tower blocks as far as you could see, cars, bikes, scooters and people everywhere. You couldn’t read anything or communicate.
When we arrived in a place we were met by a local guide, so had two looking after us most of the time.
Food was ordered for us by the local guides and Ivy depending on the area we were in and any group likes and dislikes of food. All dishes were put on a lazy Susan (always plenty, you won’t starve) for everyone to try. We practised with chopsticks before going- good idea, some restaurants provided full cutlery, some hunted round for forks and one had to give extra little china spoons (normally for soup) only thing they had apart from chopsticks!
On this trip you don’t need a scarf for temples or clothes for sleeping overnight on a train. You need layers as temperatures differ. A cotton cardigan was the most useful item. Thin plastic mac, sunhat, lipsil, sun block, mosquito repellent in some areas and a good pair of trainers.
All the hotels had toilet paper. Just remember to take some with you when out and about as few public loos (which are abundant and free) have paper. Some have paper you collect before going into the cubicle. Look out for disabled toilet or potty toilet or pedestal, otherwise you’re in the squat!
We averaged 12,000 steps a day (ranging from 6,000 to 19,000) at a moderate pace. Not all due to the tour, we preferred to walk round rather than sit with a coffee during free time.
Go on every optional shows/tour they offer, as they were all exceptional experiences!
Goggle and WhatsApp (blocked in China) TV in English if you’re lucky. Free Wi-Fi in most hotels.
Thank you to all the Wendy Wu staff for all your excellent organisation. All the local guides (especially Max and Bell) who introduced us to their home areas. Our very special thanks to Ivy.

Grand Tour of China

Saturday 20 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
The tour overall is excellent and we were so pleased to have done it . The itinerary speaks for itself . The following points are things that Wendy Wu (WW) should consider .
Broadly speaking the choice of hotels are budget . Some were huge old monolith hotels . Some in business districts . All aspects that makes the room rate cheaper for WW.
WW seem to specialise in offering a full days meal every day of the tour . It’s not necessary . We don’t need feeding so much food - most of which went to waste as we certainly did not eat it ! They could make the holiday cheaper . Lunch and dinners were identical most days . Noooo!
Too much .
There were quite a number of one night stays in cities . This makes the tour very arduous for travellers taking into account the days itinerary you are encountering .
The guides were all basically excellent . Some personalities were unhelpful to fellow travellers . One was majorly arrogant and totally disinterested in what we did , eat , see and go (Shanghai ).
We did not have a National guide for our tour as we only were a party of 8 ( 10 and above qualify for a National guide). At first we thought this would be a disadvantage . However it was great ! We were all pleased that we weren’t carrying an outsider for the entire trip! Most individual guides were supportive at points of transfer eg: airports or rail stations . Some weren’t as supportive but we muddled through .
Aspects of the tour which could be broadened are :
We needed to learn more about people and their life in China . Too much focus on temples gardens and museums.
We ought to have visited a family living in a 80sq.metre flat on their 27th floor . We went to a Hutong in Beijing so why not in a modern day setting ???
The guides did not discuss human geographical aspects other than population sizes from city to city . That should be changed/improved. Aspects of the journey should offer more of a commentary as to where we are ; what the landscape and trees around us are rather than travelling in total silence or chatting to the coach driver in Chinese !

During the tour the Xi’an WW office manager liaised with most of the tour guests which was an amazingly caring and supportive thing to do and was appreciated by all concerned. She even took on board a few suggestions and made changes or tweaks to a couple of meal times .

So to sum up - yes a brilliant tour but not without a few criticisms . If WW change things we won’t get the benefit sadly but they should look seriously at these aspects .

Grand Tour of China

Thursday 22 Feb 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Stephen Jordan found me exactly the sort of deal I was looking for - the tour I wanted and great flights with Etihad including the special offer for Business Class upgrade

Grand Tour of China

Tuesday 30 Jan 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Steve was very helpful & knowledgeable. I had several queries which he dealt with efficiently.

Grand Tour of China

Sunday 07 Jan 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
The member of staff was very helpful answering all my questions and providing information on my various options.

Grand Tour of China

Thursday 23 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Excellent Excellent Excellent

Grand Tour of China

Friday 17 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Busy, exciting and surprising.
Very well organised and professional.

Grand Tour of China

Tuesday 14 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Good itinerary, well organised, reasonably priced. Guides excellent and hotel lodgings were excellent.

Grand Tour of China

Saturday 11 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Wonderful holiday. Everything they promised and more. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this holiday with Wendy Wu.

Grand Tour of China

Saturday 11 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average
Large group tour of 25 people, more than I xpected

Grand Tour of China

Friday 26 May 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Good customer service, very helpful and patience, make the booking effortless.

Grand Tour of China

Thursday 23 Mar 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Natasha was the tour operator, contact was by telephone.. She listened carefully to my plans and devised a travel plan that suited me. She was patient and helpful. The follow up of a detailed email, was prompt and very helpful.

Grand Tour of China

Tuesday 12 Nov 2019
Overview Rating:
Our Service: average
At no point up till the final part of booking did they explain that the offer of cheap upgrades could not be used in conjunction with the "valued customer" booking discount. Consequently the discount for our 3rd booking was not applied.
Also the agent stated that the booking details would be confirmed by e-mail, which I should check and if there were any issues get back to her that day. 2 days later and still waiting for the e-mail

Our Response

Thank you for booking another Wendy Wu tour. We regret any disappointment because your loyalty discount could not be combined with the flight upgrade offer.

We were further sorry that you haven't received your confirmation documents. These were sent to you by email on 10th November and the email address we used appears to be correct. Just in case this has still not reached you I have put a copy in the post.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any further queries.