Extraordinary tours by the Award-Winning tour specialist
At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future. With this in mind, we have teamed up with an independent review platform called feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us. We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.
We also have more fantastic reviews from around the globe on TripAdvisor, including many 5 star!
The tour was well planned & took in all the major attractions.
Staff was polite but knowledge regarding destination to India was slightly lacking.
Made up the shortfall of knowledge by making two different telephone calls two different staff members On two different occasions.
booked the holiday with Lisa to India and read out the required flights to her which she knowledged but after paying the deposit and receiving a confirmation The flight times was difference to my request. ( these flights times was received by email previously sent by Lisa)
this was changed by another person making another phone call a few hours later.
Thankfully I checked the confirmation upon receiving it and before I booked my connecting flights to Gatwick airport from Jersey.
Telephone Wendy Wu three more times to speak to Lisa unfortunately she was unavailable on all occasions , requested for her to call me back unfortunately this did not happen .
It makes me wonder once you book with Wendy Wu if the office service may decline slightly?
This is my fourth holiday with Wendy Wu and hoping that the standards within the company Is still very high?
The booking agent, Catherine, was very efficient & fully understood the package I was seeking
Thank you for your great review!
We are delighted that Katherine was efficient and helpful during the booking process , and was able to understand the package you were after. We will pass on your lovely feedback to her and we hope that you have an amazing tour in India next year.
Wendy Wu team
The trip was very good. The itinerary was excellent but it was very tiring. We had little time for leisure or doing things independently. We stayed in some good hotels but rarely were free to enjoy their facilities.
Our tour guide Vishal was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and happy to explain everything to the group. He certainly added to a fabulous experience.
Generally very good, but not 5 star as it was very full on with long days, and early starts. The food was very similar in most of the hotels and restaurants we visited.
I would give 5 stars to our tour guide Vishal. He was superb
Organisation. Guide. Itinerary. Hotels and food in general.
Great value for money and an unforgettable experience.
My third trip with Wendy Wu, good service and a good itinerary, the tour leader M K Jain was excellent. Very knowledgeable and passionate about his country. He dealt with all the unforeseen problems very professionally.
The itinerary and the tour leader M K Jain were excellent.
Most of the hotels were very good with the exception of the Rajputana Resort at Udaipur which was very poor. The internal flight from Khajuraho to Varanasi was cancelled by the airline resulting in a very long 12 hour coach drive. This led to some aspects of the itinerary being rushed. However overall the trip was very good.
Pros : Organisation, efficiency, fulfilling the promised itinerary
Ultimate Pro : The guide MK Jain
One question mark over the location and standard of the wildlife reserve visited.
Thank you for your 5* review!
We are delighted that you had a wonderfully organised tour which ran efficiently! We are glad that you liked your guide and hope you have made some great memories! We hope you will think of us when you book your next holiday.
Booking no. UK108549 - Highlights of India
The outward bound Jet Airways flight lived up to the poor reviews I raised concerns about. Baggage check in at Heathrow was chaotic. Unlike other Airlines, Jet Airways did not display the flight numbers and destination at the check in desks. This resulted in long queues as passengers for 3 separate flights and destinations converged and was exasperated by passengers who, when finally reaching the front of the queue, being turned away if baggage for their flight was not being accepted at that time. The aircraft was tired, dirty and dusty. The food very poor. a pre-ordered oriental dinner morphed into chicken nuggets and baked beans. In comparison, the return flight aircraft was clean.
When we first booked the holiday we were told that it would be a British Airways flight and that a free upgrade to Economy Plus was available. This offer was later withdrawn. When we were informed, via Savvi Travel, Oakham, that we were booked with Jet Airways, I raised concerns regarding the reviews I had read. Your response was that you have never had any complaints about Jet Airways and always use them. Can you kindly explain why all the other guests who travelled on the same day on the same tour from Heathrow travelled by British Airways?
The Wendy Wu tour guide was excellent and worked very hard to please all of the guests and ensure everything ran smoothly. No mean feat in such a chaotic, overly bureaucratic and tourist unfriendly country. The itinerary was good, allowing to us see and experience much more than many other tour operators although much of the holiday was spent travelling between destinations by coach. 4 hours between breaks is not satisfactory when the state of many of the roads is taken into consideration.
The hotels used, apart from a lack of hot water and power cuts in some, were good with very pleasant and helpful staff and excellent food. However I would be interested in knowing why the farewell dinner was held in the mezzanine floor of an industrial styled dance hall where we were treated to very loud disco music throughout? The food was poor and very limited. Clearly the staff wanted us to vacate ASAP in that the second course was served before any had a chance to consume the first and then, just after putting the main course dishes on the table, small bowls of ice cream appeared to be allowed to turn to liquid. I suspect the food had been brought in from a street vendor.
Could you please explain why it was felt necessary to include 6 ‘hard sell’ pseudo-workshop retail outlet sessions? Do you find that many of your guests book your tours to be able buy large silk carpets that 3 weavers slaved over for a year or gold ear rings priced at ￡1300.00 that can be bought in the UK for circa ￡200.00 or a matching pair of 30kg marble elephants to name but a few of the offers.
Overall I see this more of an experience than a holiday. One that I am pleased we had but not to be repeated. The holiday does not compare favourably with the China trip we took with you last year, a sentiment echoed by other well seasoned travellers on this trip.
Great guide. Great organisation. Very well informed guide and willing to share all aspects of Indian life. Good hotels. Good food. Good drivers and assistants. Like the “tipping system”. Like the fully inclusive system. Good choices of sightseeing. A little too much bus travel for me but that’s nothing to do with Wendy Wu.
Thank you for your lovely 5* review!
We are delighted that you had a great time on the tour and that your guide gave you lots of information and stories about Indian ways of life. It's also brilliant to hear that you liked the food and drivers, and thought the tipping system was easy. We are pleased that you also thought the areas included in the tour were great and we hope that you have come away with some wonderful memories!
First class organisation throughout the trip ensuring a very smooth and super journey around northern India.
Value for money. Good all round variety of experience. Varanasi is a must!
Excellent organisation of tour, first rate guide who went over and above expectations to provide us with the best experience that he could of India.
This was our 3rd Wendy Wu tour and intend travelling with the company again.
Once again Wendy Wu came up trumps with the visit to India and Nepal. It wasn't just the excellent organisation that we have come to expect, but the "above and beyond the call of duty" that they and our guide put in when things went not as planned(!). Highly recommended.
Fascinating and well organised with a superb guide.
Just completed a 18 day tour of Highlights of India. It was a fairly hectic trip. The principal guide (Umi) was superb. He had a thorough knowledge of what we were visiting and an easy manner in which he delivered the information. The coach driver and assistant who accompanied us for much of the trip were also excellent. One or two of the hotels had niggles but we expected that in India. Size of party (10) worked well as did the mix of Australians and British. We thought the $100 seemed excessive considering the general rate for tips and felt that this should be included in the overall cost rather than the American style of tipping. This niggle aside we will consider Wendy Wu next time we book a similar type trip. (This was our second Wendy wu trip).
See above comments highlights of India tour
Welcome home from your tour!
It's great to hear that you had a good time, and we'll be sure to pass your praise for Umi over. We will also let our local operator know your feedback regarding tipping and the hotel standards, so that we can ensure our holidays are as high standard as possible. Thanks for letting us know how it went; we trust you've come away with some amazing memories.
Customer Care Executive
La prestation était tout à fait correcte, le guide était compétent et disponible, les h?tels étaient confortables, les transports tout à fait acceptables.
Je me suis lassée de la nourriture très répétitive et très épicée pour masquer
la pauvreté du go?t, mais cela fait partie du dépaysement.
Cordialement. Claire BAILLE
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your holiday with us! We're glad to hear that you felt the hotels, service and transport were good.
The representive guides were excellent. Also all the drivers and helpers were wonderful. Have no complaints about them at all.
We feel that all coaches should have toilet facilities on board particulalrly in India but we have mentioned this on previous feedback on other tours that we have been on.
Hotels we found to be generally not up to standard. We feel alot need updating especially to have bedroom safes in all hotels. At one hotel there was no room safe so for 2 days we had to carry all our valuables with us which did make us feel uneasy.
On our tour we had one very obnoxious lady who made our guides life terrible and also made us late on numerous occassions for our excursions. The guide certainly had his work cut out but was amazing.
The only concern was the safety aspect when we went on the night trip to the River Ganges. It was no problem for us but there were alot of older guests on the tour. One of the ladies fell in while traversing the boats and one lady who I mentioned above decided to go walk about which made the guides job very difficult. I would suggest that on this excurssion that 2 guides should be with the guests.
We are sorry to hear that some aspects of the tour did not meet your expectations. We have relayed your feedback on to our local operator in India to ensure the utmost care and attention is being provided to all of our customers at all times.
We regret any disappointment with the hotels in China and rest assured, we will continue to closely monitor the feedback we receive.
We take the well being and safety of all of our customers very seriously, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have passed your comments to our local office in India.
We truly hope that overall you enjoyed the tour and that you have returned with many happy memories at the unforgettable destination.