Our Japan Week Sale is here! Save up to £800pp across all tours

Solos can save up to £1,750 with free single supplements on selected tours. Find out more

The Award-Winning Tour Specialist
Close

Reviews

"We are never satisfied until you come back and travel with us again" - Wendy Wu, Founder & Chairwoman

At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future.

With this in mind, we have teamed up with independent review company feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us.

We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.

We were humbled to receive so much positive feedback from clients affected by the onset of the Coronavirus crisis. We hope the positive experience of customers, who still managed to enjoy their tours even as the pandemic hit, shows how wonderful your experience will be once we all get travelling again.



We also have more fantastic reviews from around the globe on TripAdvisor, including many 5 star!

 
Rating
Customer Review

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 10 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Good
Lady on the phone was lovely, listened to my requests and adjusted flights etc to suit me better. just one error in that flights for my 3 day add on we're not included. however after pointing this out the error was immediately amended.

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 10 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Poor
As a couple who have travelled extensively around the world, this was by far the worst and most disappointing tour we have ever undertaken. It was also one of the most expensive and reflected very poor value for money. We would certainly never choose Wendy Wu again if this is the standard of tour offered.

Despite the promise of outstanding guides and immersion into the culture and history of Japan we learned nothing during the tour. The journeys by coach were in silence – there was no commentary on the sights we passed or information on the places we were going to see, apart from the occasional brochure passed around towards the end of the trip. There was no guided tour around any of the locations visited (only the instruction of the time to return to the coach) and the headsets were purely for decoration and only used for a few minutes during the whole time we were away. The only way we learned anything was to hover near other tour parties whose guides gave fascinating talks as they led their own group around. This was not what we expected to have to do for almost £8,000 each. It’s such an amazing country and we feel very let down by Wendy Wu tours.

The hotels were of a reasonable standard, in particular the hotel in Mishima which was lovely. The food was interesting and varied (although the quality of some meals, particularly at the theme park near Mt Fuji, was of a poor standard). It would have been helpful to know a bit about the things we were eating as it would have helped avoid a huge amount of food waste and issues such as saving a custard item for dessert and then finding out it was a fish flavoured savoury custard!

On the whole, the tour was chaotic, unprofessional and poorly organised. Multiple changes of timing arrangements and very unclear instructions on when to return to the coach (often using WhatsApp when half the party had no access to roaming data) plus poor instructions of how to return. Hence people returned at a variety of times and sometimes got lost. The coach set off twice with people missing and had to return to find and pick them up. Only towards the end of the tour were people counted before the coach left.

Don't waste your money on a Wendy Wu tour - choose another tour company.

Jewels of Japan

Tuesday 09 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
Holiday was as advertised but our second guide was not very knowledgeable about the historical facts so we had little detail about the places we went to.

Jewels of Japan

Saturday 06 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Calling and speaking to an advisor was easy. I was given all the information I needed to help me make a decision about booking a holiday. When I rang back a week later I was able to speak the same advisor and he made my booking. Thank you, I look forward to a good holiday.

Jewels of Japan

Saturday 06 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Helpful and knowledgable staff

Jewels of Japan

Friday 05 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Very polite and helpful service on telephone.

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 13 Mar 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Well informed, friendly. Answered questions fully, useful suggestions, gave me confidence that I had chosen the right company for my holiday.

Our Response

We're thrilled to hear that you found our team well-informed, friendly, and helpful during your booking experience! Providing thorough answers to your questions, offering useful suggestions, and instilling confidence in your choice of travel company are all priorities for us. Your satisfaction and peace of mind are paramount, and we're glad we could deliver on that. Thank you for choosing us for your holiday. Jimmy, Wendy Wu Tours

Jewels of Japan

Tuesday 16 Jan 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Travel advisor talked me through my options and highlighted the half price offer on single room for my option of dates in 2025.

Our Response

That's great to hear! Thanks for your review. Jimmy

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 13 Dec 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
My first experience with WendyWu has been excellent. The phone was answered promptly, Steve was able to answer all my queries and when I needed time to think he gave me a reference number so on my follow-up call I was redirected to him. The booking process was easy and confirmation of my booking was sent almost immediately. I am looking forward to my trip next year and have confidence that it will meet my expectations. If I have any queries in the meantime I am sure that I will receive the same service.

Jewels of Japan

Friday 24 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average
Level of service and quality of hotel/guide not up to
Standard. Very mediocre and basic standard compared to cost of holiday and expectation.

Jewels of Japan

Friday 03 Nov 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
1. Excellent admin.
2. Excellent itinerary planning.
3. Good arrival and departure management.
4. Quite outstanding tour guide (Keiko)
5. Very good hotels.
6. Flawless coach arrangements.
7. Great intro to Japanese arts, crafts and culture.

Jewels of Japan

Tuesday 31 Oct 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average
Based on other Asian tours, this is not value for money. A great experience to have visited Japan, however we thought that the tourist areas were lacking a "wow" factor. A very efficient country and a lot of unique experiences but little to see which will live in our memories, save for Mount Fuji which was possibly worth half the cost.

Jewels of Japan

Monday 30 Oct 2023
Overview Rating:
Our guide Reiko was the perfect escort. She was knowledgable, entertaining and helpful. No request from the group was a problem. She taught us so many interesting things on our coach travels, making the journey interesting. I could not fault her and would give her the highest rating possible. She was an asset the holiday and made it extra.

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 25 Oct 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
This was a great holiday, to include as much as possible. Great eating experiences and good quality hotels. The only negative that most group members agreed, it was such a experienced filled holiday it was exhausting!

Jewels of Japan

Thursday 19 Oct 2023
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Very helpful, professional service. Checked availability and options quickly. Kind and reassuring.