Our Japan Week Sale is here! Save up to £800pp across all tours

Solos can save up to £1,750 with free single supplements on selected tours. Find out more

The Award-Winning Tour Specialist
Close

Reviews

"We are never satisfied until you come back and travel with us again" - Wendy Wu, Founder & Chairwoman

At Wendy Wu Tours, we want to know what you think about the service you receive when you book with us and what you thought about your tour itself. It's this vital information that helps us to improve in the future.

With this in mind, we have teamed up with independent review company feefo. Once you have made a booking or returned from one of our tours, you'll receive an email from feefo asking you to rate your experience with us.

We then display these reviews right here, completely untouched by us, so you can trust them 100%.

We were humbled to receive so much positive feedback from clients affected by the onset of the Coronavirus crisis. We hope the positive experience of customers, who still managed to enjoy their tours even as the pandemic hit, shows how wonderful your experience will be once we all get travelling again.



We also have more fantastic reviews from around the globe on TripAdvisor, including many 5 star!

 
Rating
Customer Review

Experience Japan

Monday 15 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Our wonderful guide “ Jimmy “ made the trip so special his knowledge and how he looked after us was exceptional.

Japan Uncovered

Sunday 14 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent
Great all inclusive trip with full itinerary, good accommodation, interesting places.

Ancient Empires of China & Japan

Sunday 14 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average
The China part of the tour was very good and we saw different aspects of the country. Our China tour guide 'Ivy' was excellent as were all the local guides. However, we did not have enough time to explore the Hutong area and the Summer Palace was rushed.
The restaurants were generally very good apart from the Irish Pub in Guilin, which was very poor food and dirty squat toilets.

Our tour guide in Japan was not very good. She was flustered and disorganised and her English was not great. She didn't go out of her way to help anyone - just the bare minimum for the itinerary. No evening excursions or extras and no knowledgeable local guides like in China. Lunch seemed to get in the way of the itinery and the occasional packed lunch on the coach or buying our own street food should be considered. The evening meals, however, were generally very good.
The itinerary meant that our impression of Japan was just of temples and shines and little else - and lots of travelling!
On our Tokyo extension on our own, we saw The Imperial Palace and East Gardens, Shibuya Crossing, Megura River Cherry Blossom and Ueno Park Cherry Blossom. We feel that these should have been included in the tour.
In conclusion, the itinery for China was very good but Japan left us believing we hadn't experienced the different areas of the country leaving us slightly disappointed and thinking it could have been better.

Discover Japan

Sunday 14 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average
This ' holiday' was advertised as Level 1, which, as an 80yearold is why i chose it. The information did state that at times a 15 minute walk to dites may be necessary, which I accepted, but it didn'y say that there could be another walk to the next site. In total, we were walking quite long distances each day. It also wasn't stated that it was Wendy Wu's policy to walk fast. There was often little opportunity for photos.
After a long day out, I object to then having a long walk to a restaurant for our evening meals. i don't mind going to local restaurants instead of eating in the hotel but didn't think the long walk was necessary. In fact, one night we opted out of the walk & found a restaurant just near to the hotel & had an excellent meal at a very reasonable price.
I have done many tours & always found the guides very informative & keen to give information about our country. When asked questions, our guide informed us that it was her job to guide, not to give information but at the end of the holiday she did say that, compared with other companies that she worked for, the walking was about Level 3 & that wendy Wu put all their holidays at Level 1

Japan Uncovered

Saturday 13 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
I was disappointed as a solo traveller that my flight into Osaka was the last to arrive and I missed the evening meal on the first day
I was surprised that everyone had travelled by different routes
I was also one of the first to leave Tokyo at 6:30am, so missed breakfast and final goodbye’s
Our guide Emiku Honda was brilliant and knowledgeable
The group was friendly and a good mix of ages
The tour was ‘full on’ some days, evening meal 60mins after being dropped off from the day’s activities
I loved the places we visited and feel that I saw the highlights of Japan
I really miss the warm toilet seats!

Discover Japan

Saturday 13 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
Well organised

Japan Uncovered

Friday 12 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
I've travelled in two Wendy Wu small group tours. Vietnam in 2016 and most recently India in April 2024. The itineraries were comprehensive, the hotels and meals of a very good standard and the guides - National and local - superb. I travelled in a group of 28 people to India - a great mix of Brits, Irish, Aussies and Kiwis which really made the trip extra special. Everything is arranged - the only extras you need are money for any drinks, for shopping and some of the optional extras offered like shows or additional excursions. You don't have to do the add-ons as the standard tour is already very comprehensive including excursions but eg in the India tour - the night tour of Jaipur by Jeep and the show at Agra about the the origins of the Taj Mahal were both great and worth the small extra. Any small issues were quickly resolved by the excellent National guide - for India our National Guide was the ever smiling Vishal. A fair number of long bus rides in India but I loved that as it gave me plenty of opportunity to observe the real India as we drove through. I dont think I'll ever quite get over the sight of cows casually strolling everywhere even down the middle of busy roads or how Indian girls manage to sit side saddle on a moped in a sari and not fall off! Coaches were all of an excellent standard as were the drivers - especially the cool, calm Mr Singh who navigated us safely through the Indian road system and some tight parking spots to get us right to the hotel door. Booking was easy, getting visa simple and the itinerary produced by Wendy Wu was very comprehensive. All I had to do was enjoy the trip and the spectacle of India, take literally 100's of photos and not have to worry about getting from A-Z . Thoroughly recommend Wendy Wu as I've two absolutely fantastic and memorable group tours to Vietnam and India now - and Ive just booked a Japan group tour for March 2025. Cannot wait to Wu again!

Ancient Empires of China & Japan

Friday 12 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Excellent
Very helpful, and quick, in responding to our enquiries.

Japan Uncovered

Thursday 11 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Excellent

Japan Uncovered

Thursday 11 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
Generally, a great and extensive tour. Our guide, Miyuki was excellent. Main problem was the huge crowds at the tourist sites which detracted from the enjoyment of them.
Hotels and transport were good. Itinerary stated an onsen at one hotel which wasn’t there! One day we did not check in until 8.30pm which was too late and one meal was at a school type canteen which was awful with about 200 children there.
Group size of 26 seemed quite large at times. Max of 20 would be better.

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 10 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Service: Good
Lady on the phone was lovely, listened to my requests and adjusted flights etc to suit me better. just one error in that flights for my 3 day add on we're not included. however after pointing this out the error was immediately amended.

Jewels of Japan

Wednesday 10 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Poor
As a couple who have travelled extensively around the world, this was by far the worst and most disappointing tour we have ever undertaken. It was also one of the most expensive and reflected very poor value for money. We would certainly never choose Wendy Wu again if this is the standard of tour offered.

Despite the promise of outstanding guides and immersion into the culture and history of Japan we learned nothing during the tour. The journeys by coach were in silence – there was no commentary on the sights we passed or information on the places we were going to see, apart from the occasional brochure passed around towards the end of the trip. There was no guided tour around any of the locations visited (only the instruction of the time to return to the coach) and the headsets were purely for decoration and only used for a few minutes during the whole time we were away. The only way we learned anything was to hover near other tour parties whose guides gave fascinating talks as they led their own group around. This was not what we expected to have to do for almost £8,000 each. It’s such an amazing country and we feel very let down by Wendy Wu tours.

The hotels were of a reasonable standard, in particular the hotel in Mishima which was lovely. The food was interesting and varied (although the quality of some meals, particularly at the theme park near Mt Fuji, was of a poor standard). It would have been helpful to know a bit about the things we were eating as it would have helped avoid a huge amount of food waste and issues such as saving a custard item for dessert and then finding out it was a fish flavoured savoury custard!

On the whole, the tour was chaotic, unprofessional and poorly organised. Multiple changes of timing arrangements and very unclear instructions on when to return to the coach (often using WhatsApp when half the party had no access to roaming data) plus poor instructions of how to return. Hence people returned at a variety of times and sometimes got lost. The coach set off twice with people missing and had to return to find and pick them up. Only towards the end of the tour were people counted before the coach left.

Don't waste your money on a Wendy Wu tour - choose another tour company.

Experience Japan

Wednesday 10 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average
Sadly not the quality of holiday we were led to believe especially given the price and a complaint has been made to the tour company. Guide's English was poor and a day and a half wasted in the pouring rain. I did not expect to be left at a funfair in the rain when we should have been at a heritage centre which we were told was inaccessible but turned out to be 10 minutes up the road. Why also take us up a cable car ehen visibility was virtually nil. We were given 30 minutes at the museum in Tokyo - just time for a toilet break and quick look round the shop. Very bad planning.
Food was mostly tasteless and luke warm having been left on the table.
This review will no doubt be mirrored by the other 27 people on the tour who were likewise very unhappy.

Japan Uncovered

Wednesday 10 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: average

Jewels of Japan

Tuesday 09 Apr 2024
Overview Rating:
Our Tour: Good
Holiday was as advertised but our second guide was not very knowledgeable about the historical facts so we had little detail about the places we went to.